Daily Archives: December 8, 2008

In a class by himself

Good morning friends.  After reading one of the article in reference with The Times of India.  It hits my heart.  It’s sad to hear those kind of story.  Because of poverty, everybody were helpless.  Let me share it with you.  I’m sure you too will pity on those kind of people.

Years back, a fatherless boy used to go knocking doors in his village Mitiyala in Amreli asking people to donate some wheat flour so that he and his mother could subsist themselves. Of the flour he got, he would take half and sell it to raise some money. He could do with two less rotis but could not give up saving 10 paise everyday so that his fees could be paid!

Bharat Pandit was son of a teacher who died at a young age leaving an unfulfilled dream his son should get a doctorate! Not only did Bharat get a PhD but he also became a district  education officer, currently posted in Gandhinagar.

Bharat was just three years old, but mother Manjula would keep telling him about his father’s aspirations. He wouldn’t mind going hungry but there was not a day when he would not study hard. With the mission of education blazing in his mind, Bharat completed his primary schooling while begging for flour which he delivered at home for making rotis. Many times, he would also sell the flour to buy vegetables

When he entered secondary school, he also worked as a farm labourer to earn some money for his school fees and to keep the home fire burning. “People were nice to me. They would pay but not make me work very hard,” says Bharat, who would use his free time for reading  textbooks and reference books.

Much to the pride of Manjulaben, Bharat completed his BA, MA, BEd and even his PhD. His first job was as a teacher in Amreli and later grew in his profession to become a DEO. He was also posted in Ahmedabad.

“Education has helped me overcome poverty. Had it not been for education, I would be still living in my village working as a labourer,” says Bharat.

Bharat’s big moment in life was when he paid a loan of Rs 400 which his father had taken in 1965. “It was a big amount then. I remember, many of our relatives would send of Re 1, Re 5 to pay as interest and keep our head afloat. My job helped me repay that loan. When I completely paid it off, I silently saluted my mother for constantly supporting me in my mission to educate myself,” says Bharat

According to Manjulaben, children of this generation should also take studies seriously. “Education is a tool that can change the thinking of a society and help alleviate social status of poor,” says Manjulaben.